PDA

View Full Version : MorphOS PowerUP



Buleste
5th February 2008, 11:13
Anyone got any knowledge on how to get MorphOS for PowerUP working? I'm trying to install but can't get it to run.

Harrison
5th February 2008, 11:23
I've never used the OS, but would love to be able to try it out just to see how good it is and what it can do. Was even tempted to buy a Pegasos II at one point.

Buleste
5th February 2008, 11:42
This is it. I've tried OS4 and was frankly disappointed so i thought i'd give MOS a try.

TiredOfLife
5th February 2008, 16:00
What was it you didn't like about OS4 or where you just expecting more?

Harrison
5th February 2008, 16:05
I think many people have been a bit disappointed with OS4 from what I've seen and read. I think it just wasn't that big an evolution or step forward from OS3.9. Especially considering how many years it was been in development.

Buleste
5th February 2008, 16:17
From what i've used in OS4 most of it is cosmetic with the rest just being stuff that either is freely available on Aminet for 68000 Amigas or only usable on processors available for Amiga one's. Some bits i did like but it's certainly not worth 60 and 5 years waiting time. Maybe I'm not getting the full benefit due to my CV64/3D having 4meg memory but there seems to be no huge speed increase. I think it's just not the leap forward we want and deserve. 3.0 to 3.5 was a bigger leap.

TiredOfLife
5th February 2008, 16:38
I am not getting the expected speed increases and also losing speed in some circumstances.

For some things, I am better off under 3.9 with WarpOS.

Some of this maybe to do with my current set up.
I'm having to use some drivers in emulation although this should be sorted soon.

Some of the speed loss I am sure is down to as Buleste says, lack of optimisation for the BPPC and CPPC.
Hopefully this will change.

On the plus side, I have access to more programs, some of them quite useful.
Although the OS doesn't seem on the surface to be much more advanced than 3.9 with third party proggies, it does appear to be more stable.

Buleste
5th February 2008, 16:43
Main thing is that MOS and OS4 are the rivels for the PPC "Amiga" market and i'd just like to be able to compare the two so if anyone can help me with advice on how to get MOS to run i'd appreciate it as i've tried most of the normal things (idepatch, reducing the amount of fast ram, using a SFS partition instaed of FFS 45 etc) to no avail as it just hangs on the black screen after the reset.

TiredOfLife
5th February 2008, 16:55
I wanted to try it myself, but it doesn't work with a Mediator setup.
There is a MorphOS site, you can try.

Buleste
5th February 2008, 17:10
Got the DL looked through the forum and tried various bits from there but still struggling.

Harrison
5th February 2008, 17:30
I've been hoping that PearPC would add support for open BIOS so that I could test MorphOS with this PPC emulator, but sadly this hasn't been added, and the emulator doesn't seem to have been worked on for a long time now.

There are a couple of other PPC emulators. PSIM is now very old (1996) but I've heard it still works well for a lot of PPC emulation. And Qemu which is the newest and most promising. I've not tried either but am interested to see if either could be used to run MorphOS. I will have to investigate.

herosshamy
19th January 2011, 12:23
On 2 December 2010 was released MorphOS 2.7, improved support for Power Mac G4 and platforms that several bugs are fixed.

burns flipper
20th January 2011, 12:13
Nice fact!

Harrison
20th January 2011, 12:30
Indeed. A spammer accidental actually contributing to the discussion. :lol:

BTW, if interested, you can see a full rundown of the 2.7 update on the official MorphOS site at http://www.morphos-team.net/releasenotes-2.7.html

I would love to run MorphOS and have a play around with it, but its a bit pointless buying an old G4 Mac just for that, or one of the expensive supporting PPC motherboards. A real shame. As said 1000 times before, they need to start porting to Intel.