PDA

View Full Version : The Metroid games appreciation thread

LowercaseE
15th January 2008, 22:15
I recently started playing some games again and the original Metroid is what got me back into it. I'm not quite sure why, but all of a sudden I just got a hankerin to whoop on some mother brain! I was surprised at how much of the game I actually remembered, though I did have to cheat and use a map for a few sections. Not bad for not playing the game in 10+ years though!

After beating the crap out of part 1, I moved on to Super Metroid and played that one for a few weeks. I actually remembered less of this one than I though I did, but I still got through it. Afterwards, I went back and played it again using a 100% guide to get everything. Yeah, it's cheating but hey, I did beat it on my own first.

Now I'm playing Metroid Zero on the GBA. I had tried Fusion a while back but never got into it. Now because of how much I like Zero, I think I'm going to try Fusion again. So far I've beaten Zero a few times, but I want to get a better time and collection ratio (67% is BAAADDDD!).

Any one else fans of these classics?

Harrison
15th January 2008, 22:41
I've only played the Gamecube games, so must really give the older SNES and NES games a try when I get time.

LowercaseE
16th January 2008, 00:14
Yes, they're well worth a look. Granted they're not 3D (a plus for me!), but the game play and action are fantastic. Easy to get hooked on. If you end up liking them, you might even want to give the GBA games a look. So far, I'm having a great time with Zero Mission. There's a killer 55 minute speed run for it on youtube.

Demon Cleaner
16th January 2008, 00:21
Man, I love speedruns. The site http://www.speedruns.net/ is cool. Also is the C64 longplay site http://www.c64-longplays.de/

Harrison
16th January 2008, 00:46