PDA

View Full Version : Reclaiming bank charges

Harrison
19th September 2007, 12:41
I was reading an article today about unfair bank charges and our legal standing.

Apparently the excessive charges banks make, such as £20 to send a letter, £20 for going over an overdraft limit, £30 for paying a bill when there are not enough funds in your account, and overdraft interest charges, are unlawful under the "Unfair Terms of Consumer Contracts Regulations 1999" charges act, and must reflect administration costs and cannot be punitive.

Have any of you ever tried to claim back such charges from your banks and if so were you successful?

Apparently you can claim back up to 6 years worth of such charges so I may go back through my bank statements and see if I can claim anything back.

Tiago
19th September 2007, 12:58
I work in a bank and in our case in Portugal, almost every charges are in the law. Banks can do it. There is a really small % of then that could not be legal.

The ones you just mention, in my country are legal. We have a central bank "Bank of Portugal" who is responsible for that laws.
In Uk am sure there is an some institution that make that laws, but not the goverment. The bank make the charges thru indication of that instituion, They just tell the minimum and maximum values you can charge and each bank chooses each charges.

Bloodwych
19th September 2007, 13:43
My brother did just that and got +£500 back! He must have been a naughty boy to get charged that much over the 6 years or whatever!

The companies usually charge a fixed fee or % of what they claim back (it's not too bad), but yes it's defo worth putting in a claim.

Can't say I've ever had a bank charge, so it's not worth me claiming.

Tiago
19th September 2007, 13:50
You need to pay attention what is your bank doing in your account.
Here if you have a "salary account" where you receive your salary, not a order deposit,